Ofurumapepe Cup: Senator Dickson Arrives Bayelsa For The Grand Finale

….as Odoni Community of Sagbama and Torugbene 2 Community of Ekeremor Meet in the Finals

….Ofurumapepe Cup Grand Finale Holds on Tuesday 28th December

All is now set for finals of the maiden edition of the annual Senator Henry Seriake Dickson Football Tournament, known as the Ofurumapepe Cup.

In a statement signed by the Technical Consultant of the competition, Mr. Ono Akpe, Tuesday, December 28th, has been fixed for the grand finale which will be held in Sagbama Town at 2pm in the presence of top government functionaries and sports lovers.

According to the statement, His Excellency, Senator Douye Diri Governor of Bayelsa State is expected to be the Special Guest of Honour, while the Deputy Governor, Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo is the Guest of Honour. The Commissioner of Sports, Hon Daniel Igali is expected to be the special guest, while the former board member of the Nigerian Football Federation and CAF Medical Committee Member, Dr. Peter Singabele, will be the Chairman of the occasion.

Other Special Guests expected to grace the occasion include Chief Thompson Okorotie, Chairman, Bayelsa PDP Elders caucus and Chairman Ekeremor PDP Elders caucus, Elder Fyneman Wilson, Vice Chairman, Bayelsa PDP Elders caucus and Chairman Sagbama PDP caucus.

The Royal Fathers of the Day are, the Chairmen of Sagbama LGA Traditional Council and Ekeremor LGA Traditional Council.

The Chairman of Ekeremor LGA, Hon. Bertola Perekeme and his counterpart from Sagbama LGA, Hon. Embeleakpo Alale will be hosts, while the former Governor of Bayelsa State and Senator representing Ekeremor-Sagbama Constituency, Senator Henry Seriake Dickson, who arrived Bayelsa from Abuja on Friday 24th December, is the Chief Host of the competition.

Mr. Akpe stated that top government functiomaries from the constituency, stakeholders and all sports lovers are also invited to attend the finals and enjoy the best of grassroot football, from Bayelsa West Senatorial District.

The final match would be played between Odoni Community FC of Sagbama and Torugbene 11 Community FC of Ekeremor Local Government.

To qualify for the finals Odoni Community FC from Sagbama LGA, emerged champions of Constituency 3 in the knock-out stage before they got to the LG Finals, which was played in a league format comprising the 3 Constituency Champions. They garnered 4 points to emerge champions of Sagbama Local Government.

On the other hand, Torugbene 2 Community FC of Ekeremor emerged champions of Constituency 2 to qualify for the league format stage comprising the 3 constituencies champions. Torugbene 2 Community FC eventually emerged Local Government Champions having recorded 7 points in the Ekeremor centre.

The third place match which would be between Kabiama Community FC of Sagbama and Isampou Community FC of Ekeremor will kick off by 12 noon.

Other highlights of the occasion would be the presentation of the 6 Constituency Champions from Sagbama and Ekeremor.

The Constituency Champions in Ekeremor LGA are; Constituency 1 champion, Isampou Community; Constituency 2 champion is Toru- gbene 11 Community ; while Ogbotobor Community emerged as the Champion of Constituency 3.

In Sagbama LGA, Ebedebiri Community are Constituency 1 Champions, while Kabiama Community are Constituency 2 Champions and Odoni Community emerged champions of Constituency 3.

The Henry Seriake Dickson Football tournament popularly known as the Ofurumapepe Cup is sponsored by the Henry Seriake Dickson Foundation and this year’s theme is, “Youth empowerment for Peace and Development.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles