Anti-Drug War: Senate Committee Commends Marwa, Backs NDLEA’s Offensives Against Cartels

The Public Accounts Committee of the Senate has commended the Chairman/Chief Executive of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, Brig. Gen. Mohamed Buba Marwa (Retd), CON, OFR, for providing good leadership for the anti-narcotics Agency in its onslaught against drug abuse and illicit drug trafficking in Nigeria.

According to a press release on Tuesday 25th October 2022 signed by the NDLEA Director of Media & Advocacy, Femi Babafemi, he said that Chairman of the Committee, Senator Mathew Urhoghide who gave the commendation on Tuesday 25th October during the Public Hearing on Service Wide Vote at the Senate Complex Abuja, said Marwa’s leadership at NDLEA has changed the country’s drug war narrative both locally and internationally.

While bemoaning the past when the Agency lost its glory, the Senate Committee Chairman said it is now daily visible and glaring to all Nigerians that the NDLEA is not only barking but equally biting deep drug barons and dealers that have for years remained invisible and untouchable. He expressed the Committee’s readiness to continue to support Marwa and the Agency to succeed in making Nigeria a drug-free country.

He added that while the Committee continues to push for support for Marwa’s tireless efforts against drug abuse and trafficking of illicit substances, the NDLEA boss should always feel free to approach members for any support that will make the Agency better.

In his response, Marwa commended the Committee, the Senate, and the entire National Assembly for providing the necessary legislative support for the Agency to achieve its vision and set goals. He assured them that with their continued support, NDLEA will continue to make Nigerians and Nigeria proud in the discharge of its responsibilities.

Other Committee members at the hearing attended by representatives of other Ministries, Departments, and Agencies include Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba; Senator Ibrahim Hadeja (Deputy Chairman of the Committee); Senator Michael Ama Nnachi; Senator Biodun Olujimi, and Senator George Sekibo.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles