Bayelsa Governor’s Football Tournament Kicks Off In 8 LGAs, Twenty Two Centers

…. as Matches Gets Underway in Brass LGA Today.

Nigeria’s biggest grassroots football tournament, the Bayelsa State Governor’s Football Tournament, tagged the Prosperity Cup, will kick off today, Tuesday, 21st May, in Brass Local Government Area.

Bayelsa State Governor, Senator Douye Diri represented by his Deputy Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo last week took the symbolic kick-off of this year’s edition at the Samson Siasia Stadium, Yenagoa, as defending champions Crusaders FC of Peretorugbene, pipped Police Machine FC 3-0 in the ceremonial opener.

According to the fixtures released by the Chairman Technical Committee of the Tournament, Diseye Nwankwe, the centre matches will kick start in Brass LGA with Agbalakoko FC up against Igoni United at the Twon Brass Centre by 1 pm, Water Strikers FC will tackle Egweama FC at 3 pm.

He explained that Twon Brass FC will entertain Kurotee FC on Wednesday at the Twon Brass Centre by 1 pm as Odio FC welcomes Diema FC by 3 pm in the day’s second fixture. In comparison, Ogbokiri Akassa Centre will come alive on Saturday when Kongho United and the Blue Sea Strikers face each other at 1 pm, followed by Minibie Kingdom and Sangana FC tie at 3 pm.

The Tournament Director, Mr. Perela Aboro, stated “This edition would be centred on ensuring that our players secure playing contracts within and outside the country. I was actually in Europe earlier in the year for some contacts in this regard and I can assure you that we would have a couple of local and international scouting programmes to ensure this happens. We are also in touch with the NFF, NNL and NLO to ensure their coaches scouts and technical officials witness some of our matches”

It would be recalled that the maiden edition of the Bayelsa Governors Cup which was first played in 2015 with 110 teams was won by Ewoama FC of Brass, who defeated River Ramos (FC)of Ekeremor in the finals played at the Nembe City Stadium.

Inikurogha Okardi who captained Ewoama FC, eventually won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of that edition, and went on to play for George Turnah FC, Bayelsa United, and currently plays France Division 3 side, AS Nancy-Lorraine.

Over 220 male female and para-soccer teams will be jostling for the 15 million Naira prize money with over 5000 youths, 800 coaches, and 1000 officials engaged in this year’s tournament.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles