Bayelsa Senatorial Bye-Election: Gov. Diri, Ewhrudjakpo Win Polling Units

Bayelsa State Governor, Senator Douye Diri has delivered his polling unit 4, Ward 7 in Sampou, Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area to his party, the PDP.

The party won convincingly with 802 votes while APC scored no vote.

Similarly, Deputy Governor, Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo won his polling unit 6, Ward 4 in Ofoni, Sagbama Local Government Area.

In the result declared, the PDP polled 1150 while its nearest challenger, the APC got 13 while the PDP also won at Unit 10 of the same ward by 1484 to APC’s 9 votes.

At Atissa Ward 1, Unit 10 (Peace Park) opposite Government House, Yenagoa, the PDP polled 43 votes as against APC’s 3.

Meanwhile, voting started late in Agbere community in Sagbama Local Government Area in the Bayelsa West Senatorial bye-election after hoodlums attacked the RAC center in a bid to disrupt the process but security agents intervened and recovered all election materials.

The State Commissioner for Finance, Mr. Maxwell Ebibai has frowned at attitude of some people who plotted to disenfranchise others from exercising their civic rights in Agbere.

Mr. Ebibai, who spoke after security agents scuttled a planned attack by hoodlums to disrupt the elections and cart away materials thus delaying the process, explained that the people were eager to vote for a candidate of their choice and would do so no matter the situation.

He lauded the security personnel and INEC officials for recognising the rights of the people to vote and the provisions made to ensure a smooth and peaceful polls.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles