August 15, 2022

Gov Diri Restates Commitment To Sports Development

2 min read

….as Four Teams Crash Out of Prosperity Cup

Bayelsa Governor, Senator Douye Diri has reiterated his desire to build on the achievements recorded in the sporting sector, and also ensure the state becomes the sports capital of the country.

The Governor who disclosed this during the 2022 Annual General Meeting and Congress of the Nigeria Women Football League, held in Yenagoa, at the weekend, said the state female football team, Bayelsa Queens, has made him proud by winning the female elite league, alongside other precious competition, as he charged them to replicate their performance at the CAF Champions league.

The Governor described football as a money spinning sport which provides means of empowerment for many individuals, and expressed delight with the level of progress of women’s football in the nation, while urging youths to take advantage of the avenues offered by the game to make something meaningful for their lives.

He added that the ongoing Prosperity Cup has also attracted lots of admirers as well as football scouts across the world, and soonest, the state will be the home of ‘talent hunting’.

The Round of 16 stage of the ongoing Bayelsa Governor’s Football Tournament, which is widely regarded as Nigeria’s largest grassroot football competition, got underway on Sunday at the Ebedebiri Centre, where Amarata FC of Yenagoa lost two goals to nil to Peretorugbene United of Ekeremor in the first game, while EGM FC of Yenagoa were one nil winners over Opuokun FC of Kolokuma Opokuma.

At the Kaiama Centre on Monday, 27th, Agbayama FC of Ekeremor defeated Akaba FC of Yenagoa two goals to nil in 5he first game, while Osokoma FC of Southern Ijaw won Agbere FC of Sagbama 4-3 on penalties after a one all draw in the second game.

With the results, Peretorugbene United EGM FC, Agbayama FC and Osokama FC, have progressed to the quarter finals.

Action continues on Tuesday at the Opolo Centre, as Amassoma FC will face UAC FC of Akassa at 1pm, then Anyama FC will lock horns with Agboro FC at 3pm, while Opume FC takes on Okoroma-Tereke FC at 1pm, and Odioma FC vs Opolo FC at 3pm at the Nembe Centre on Wednesday the 29th.

The finals is slated for 17th of July, where the improved prize money of ten million naira, will be distributed to deserving winners, with the champions going home with five million naira(#5,000,000), two point five million naira (#2.500,000), for the second position, one million naira (#1,000,000), for the third position, five hundred thousand naira(#500,000), for the fourth position, five hundred thousand naira(#500,000) and two hundred and fifty thousand naira(#250,000) for the four losing quarter finalists.

Copyright © 2020 Swift Reporters. All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.