NIGCOMSAT Gets New Managing Director

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR has approved with immediate effect, the appointment of Engineer Tukur Mohammed Lawal Funtua, as the new Managing Director of Nigeria Communications Satellite (NIGCOMSAT), following the retirement of the erstwhile Managing Director, Dr. Abimbola Alale.

According to a press release on Friday, 23rd December 2022 Senior Special Assistant /Spokesperson Media to the Minister of Communications & Digital Economy, Uwa Suleiman (Mrs), said that Engineer Tukur Mohammed Lawal Funtua, born on 24th November 1966 is an indigene of Funtua Local Government Area of Katsina State, Northwest Nigeria. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemical Engineering, PGDM, MBA, a Professional Diploma in Education, and a Ph.D. in Environmental and Sustainable Development Management in view, at the University of Port Harcourt.

He was before his appointment, Director, of health community affairs, safety, and the environment with BUA Cement Plc, and served in various capacities including Health and Safety Manager, Country HSE Manager, and Regional Manager for Communications, Public Affairs, and Sustainable Development at Lafarge Africa Plc and Group Head, Environment and Community Affairs at Dangote Cement Plc among others.

Engineer Tukur Mohammed Lawal Funtua

Engineer Tukur, who has thirty years of professional experience in manufacturing, process engineering, health, production, safety and environmental management, communications, and various other fields, is a Chartered Environmentalist at the Society for Environmental Toxicology and Pollution Mitigation, a Fellow of the Nigerian Society of Chemical Engineers, and the Professional Leadership Practitioners Institute. He is a Registered Engineer with the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN), a member of numerous professional bodies and institutes. Engineer Tukur is an author and is married with children.

Recall that the Nigeria Communications Satellite (NIGCOMSAT) falls under the purview of the Honourable Minister of Communications and Digital Economy.