August 10, 2022

Rivers APC Salutes Emergence Of Tonye Cole As Guber Flag Bearer

2 min read

…Says Party Ready to Win Come 2023

The Rivers State Chapter of All Progressives Congress, APC, has hailed the emergence of Arc Tonye Patrick Cole as the Party’s governorship flag bearer in Rivers State, describing its development as a sign of good things to come.

This was disclosed to newsmen by the Party’s State Publicity Secretary, Senibo Chris Finebone, shortly after Arc. Tonye Cole beat 5 other contestants to emerge the winner at a keenly contested governorship primary election that took place at the Adokiye Amiesimaka Stadium, Port Harcourt on Thursday, 26th May 2022.

Briefing journalists, Finebone said: “We are not just pleased but very delighted that the entire process was flawless and visibly transparent and fair.

“It was a culmination of hard work, diligent adherence to transparency, and fairness to all by the Rivers State Governorship Committee led by Rt. Hon. Larry Odeh came from Abuja and the leadership of our local Party chapter.

“The Party was determined to prove naysayers wrong by sticking to the rulebook. It was very apparent that the Party exhibited a very high level of professionalism in handling the entire process, leaving nothing to chance, Finebone opined.

Speaking further, the State Publicity Secretary recalled that the disposition of the winner and the losers indicates satisfaction by all participants.

“You could see how all contestants held their grounds while the voting process lasted. But as soon as the result was announced, the aspirant that came second hugged and congratulated the winner. It shows that the winner deserved to win and the other aspirants did not feel robbed; they felt satisfied that they fought a good fight but most of all, that the process was transparent and fair to them.

“This is gratifying for all well-meaning members of our Party. It portends the new collaborative spirit among members and leaders to win power in Rivers State come 2023,” Finebone said.

It would be recalled that at the end of the exercise, Arc. Tonye Cole scored 986 votes to emerge as the winner while Hon. Ojuakaye Flag Amachree came second with 190 votes. Dr. Sokonte Davies, Hon. Ibinabo Michael-West, Bernard Mikko, and Magnus Abe trailed with 47, 43, 2, and one vote respectively. A total of 1308 delegates were accredited while 1295 delegates voted; 1285 votes were valid while 12 votes were voided.

Copyright © 2020 Swift Reporters. All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.