Visa Clearance Requirements Only Applicable To 8 Countries

The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, has raised alarm to some misinformation and misconceptions about a 24-year-old visa clearance policy, which requires Nigerians travelling to some countries to meet certain requirements before getting clearance from the NDLEA.

In a press release on Wednesday 24th March, 2021 signed by NDLEA Director of Media & Advocacy Femi Babafemi, he said that the anti-drug law enforcement agency wishes to state as follows: that the policy was not newly created to impose levies on Nigerians travelling abroad but has been in existence for over 24 years.

The policy does not apply to all Nigerians seeking to travel overseas but only those travelling to eight countries, usually referred to as ‘source countries’. The countries include: Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Brazil, Pakistan, Philippines and Russia.

The policy is at the behest of the ‘source countries’, and not that of the NDLEA or Nigeria. It’s designed as part of global efforts to fight the menace of drug trafficking.

The requirements for the visa clearance being mischievously circulated on social media are just a part of a three-page document, which provides other detailed information on the policy.

Nigerians can rest assured that NDLEA remains committed to its core goal of ridding Nigeria of illicit drugs and will not deviate from its constitutionally assigned duties.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles