NIGCOMSAT Kick Starts FG’s 774 LG Internet Connectivity Project

NIGCOMSAT Ltd has commenced the VSAT installation project which is to cover 579 Local Government Areas of Nigeria via satellite coverage leveraging the ku-band network asset of NigComSat-1R for the Federal Government, Project 774 Local Government Areas of the country.

In a press release on Thursday, 14th March 2024 signed by the NIGCOMSAT Head of Media Relations Unit, Stephen Kwande, said that phase one of the project has been rolled out and is expected to cover 40 local government area council offices across eight states in Nigeria including Borno, Cross River, Imo, Kogi, Kwara, Ogun, Sokoto and Zamfara states.

According to the Managing Director, Mrs Nkechi Jane Egerton-Idehen said the portable inverter system with solar panel intended to provide uninterrupted power supply using green energy solution has been delivered and members of the installation team already deployed, had kicked off the project installation on March 5, 2024 in Kabba-Bunu of Kogi state.

Mrs Egerton-Idehen stated that Kogi state, the first state to benefit from the project covering five local government areas of the state is aligning with the ministry’s strategic blueprint and a significant step in achieving President Bola Ahmed Tinibu’s mandate to deliver efficient public service to Nigerians at the local government level.

Engr. Saheed Belgore, a NIGCOMSAT staff in one of the installation sites in Kogi state.

The NIGCOMSAT Managing Director, also stated that in addition to the already five local government areas allocated to Kogi state in the first instance, the Hon. Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy Dr. Bosun Tijani has graciously added another five local government areas increasing the total number from forty to forty-five to cover the phase one of the project in the country.

‘Even though only five LGAs were initially marked down for coverage in the first phase of the project execution in Kogi state, the Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, Dr Bosun Tijani, has directed the addition of five other local government secretariats. This brings the total number of LGAs to be covered in the first phase from forty to forty-five.

The first five local government areas to cover are Kabba/Bunu, Lokoja, Okehi, Bassa and Okene local government areas.

The additional five local governments approved by the Hon. Minister are Adavi, Ajaokuta, Kogi, Mopamuro and Dekina.

In Kwara state, the following local government areas are to be covered are, Ilorin West, Offa, Irepodun, Ilorin South and Kaiama local government areas of the state.

For Imo state, the following LGAs are Ikeduru, Oru East Ihitte/Uboma, Orsu, and Oguta local government areas of the state.

While Zamfara state, NIGCOMSAT Ltd will take four local government areas which are Anka, Birnin Magaji, Maru, and Zumi while Galaxy Backbone is to cover Bungudu local government area.

NIGCOMSAT’s ambition according to the Managing Director is to complete the project in recorded time and ensure that Nigerians enjoy the benefits of inclusivity at the local government areas across the country.